12th AMSUN Scientific Conference

A group photo of 12th AMSUN Scientific Conference.

The Association of Medical Students of the University of Nairobi (AMSUN) hosted its 12th Scientific Conference on the 9th and 10th June, 2022.

The event was officiated by Prof. Julius Ogeng’o, the Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs and the awards and closing ceremony hosted by the Faculty of Health Sciences Dean, Prof. Evelyn Wagaiyu.

The theme of the conference was ‘Research today for a healthier tomorrow’, a topic that invited speakers delved into through all allowable angles. Medical students who have engaged in research before had the opportunity to present their research findings to an audience of curious students and a panel of well-versed judges.Students were able to interact, network and learn from each other.

Outstanding research findings were well awarded. The awards were into two categories; poster and oral presentations. The oral category winner was Ms. Stephanie Njambi who scored an 85, 1st runners up was Amayo Amollo who scored 84.67 and the 2nd runners up was Felix Njoroge who scored 84.14. The poster presentation winner was Ms. Khulud Nurani.

Special appreciation to judges Dr. Victor Bargoria, Dr. Edwin Walong, Dr. Daniel Ojuka, Dr Bridget Neema. Special appreciation to keynote speakers Dr. Elly Nyaim (Leadership in Medicine), Dr. Marianne Mureithi (Research in the pandemic era) and Dr. Musa Musani (Undergraduate Medical Student involvement in research). Special thanks to the panelists; Dr. Beda Olabu (Anatomy), Dr. Michael Magoha (Neurosurgery) and Ms. Fiona Nyaanga. Special thanks to sponsor guests Dr. Maxwel Okoth (CEO Ruai Family Hospital-RFH), Mr. Deepak Sharma (CEO Nephromed), Dr. Mercy Korir (KMA) and Mr. Seth Owiti (Servier)

Special thanks to lecturers whose guidance, support and connections made this fruitful; Prof. Walter Mwanda  (Haematology), Dr. Marianne Mureithi (Microbiology), Dr.Julius Kiboi (Surgery) and Dr. Elly Nyaim (Surgery).

Special thanks to the conference organizing committee: Ms. Bridget Neema, Ms. Lucianne Odiero, Melvin Mwenda, Vincent Kipkorir, Joseph Kariuki, Ms. Fadhila Yusuf, Talha Chaudhry,Ms Fiona Nyaanga and Castro Jasper. Heartfelt appreciation to the AMSUN chairperson, Mr. Ireri Victor, the Faculty of Health Sciences Associate Dean Prof. C.F Otieno and Dean Prof. Evelyn Wagaiyu for the guidance and support towards this milestone event.

The Association of Medical Students of the University of Nairobi (AMSUN) is proud of everyone who made this a reality, of all the delegates from UoN and other medical students within the country who attended the two-day event, AMSUN is grateful.

Read more details here.